AACTA Awards nominations 2021: The Newsreader, Wakefield lead pack

It used to be one of the talked-about displays of 2021 – and now its on the right track for some large wins at this yr’s AACTA Awards.

The Newsreader used to be one of the talked-about displays of 2021 – and its reputation has been mirrored with an excellent sweep of nominations for Australia’s largest TV and picture awards this yr.

The six-part ABC sequence has scored a whopping 10 nods throughout a variety of classes forward of the 2021 AACTA Awards, which shall be held on the Sydney Opera Area on December 8.

The once a year tournament honours the most productive in Australian TV and picture – and this yr, it’s given nods to Nitram that includes Anthony LaPaglia, The Dry starring Eric Bana, Penguin Bloom with Naomi Watts, The Newsreader, Wakefield, Mr Inbetween, Wentworth and Jack Irish.

Truth TV juggernauts together with The Block, The Voice, LEGO Masters and MasterChef Australia have as soon as once more been recognised, together with Luxe Listings Sydney and returning favorite, The Actual Housewives of Melbourne.

The Awards, which incorporates the public-voted AACTA Audience Choice Awards, shall be broadcast on Channel 10, at 7.30pm, Wednesday, December 8, and encored within the days following on Fox Area on Foxtel, Binge and AACTA TV.


(Complete checklist of nominations may also be discovered on the AACTA website.)


Highest Drama Sequence


Jack Irish

Mr Inbetween

The Newsreader

Overall Regulate



Highest Youngsters’s Program

100% Wolf: Legend of the Moonstone


The Bureau of Magical Issues

Dive Membership


Kangaroo Seaside

Highest Comedy Leisure Program

Dom and Adrian 2020

Exhausting Quiz

The Moth Impact

Spicks And Specks

The Weekly

Highest Comedy Performer

Mark Samual Bonanno – Aunty Donna’s Giant Ol’ Area of Amusing

Kitty Flanagan – Fisk

Tom Gleeson – Exhausting Quiz

Broden Kelly – Aunty Donna’s Giant Ol’ Area of Amusing

Sarah Kendall – Frayed

Nakkiah Lui – Preppers

Luke McGregor – Rosehaven

Celia Pacquola – Rosehaven

Highest Course in Drama or Comedy

Fires (Episode 2) – Ana Kokkinos

Mr Inbetween (Episode 6) – Nash Edgerton

The Newsreader (Episode 1) – Emma Freeman

Wakefield (Episode 5) – Kim Mordaunt

Wakefield (Episode 8) – Jocelyn Moorhouse

Highest Course in Nonfiction Tv

Brazen Hussies – Catherine Dwyer

Hannah Gadsby – Douglas – Madeleine Parry

Love at the Spectrum (Episode 4) – Cian O’Clery

Ms Represented with Annabel Crabb (Episode 1) – Stamatia Maroupas

You Can’t Ask That (Episode 1) – Kirk Docker

Highest Documentary or Factual Program

Brazen Hussies

EXPOSED: The Ghost Teach Fireplace

Existence in Color with David Attenborough

Ms Represented with Annabel Crabb

Outdated Folks’s House For 4 Yr Olds

The College That Attempted to Finish Racism

Highest Leisure Program

Australian Ninja Warrior

LEGO® Masters Australia

The Masked Singer


Sydney Homosexual and Lesbian Mardi Gras 2021

The Voice

Highest Factual Leisure Program

Australia Talks

Courtney Act’s One Plus One

Gogglebox Australia

Love at the Spectrum

The Mission

You Can’t Ask That

Highest Lead Actor in a Drama Offered by way of Foxtel

Rudi Dharmaligam – Wakefield

Man Pearce – Jack Irish

Sam Reid – The Newsreader

Richard Roxburgh – Fires

Scott Ryan – Mr Inbetween

Highest Lead Actress in a Drama Offered by way of Foxtel

Deborah Mailman – Overall Regulate

Mandy McElhinney – Wakefield

Miranda Otto – Fires

Pamela Rabe – Wentworth

Anna Torv – The Newsreader

Highest Way of life Program

Adam and Poh’s Malaysia in Australia

The Cook dinner Up with Adam Liaw

Gardening Australia

Grand Designs Australia

The Dwelling Room

Like it or Checklist it Australia

Highest Miniseries or Telefeature

A Sunburnt Christmas

The Finish


New Gold Mountain

The Strange Suspects

Highest Narrative Comedy Sequence


Aunty Donna’s Giant Ol’ Area of Amusing





Highest Truth Program

The Wonderful Race Australia

Australian Survivor: Brains v Brawn

The Block

Luxe Listings Sydney

MasterChef Australia

The Actual Housewives of Melbourne

Highest Screenplay in Tv

Mr Inbetween (Episode 6) – Scott Ryan

The Newsreader (Episode 1) – Michael Lucas

The Newsreader (Episode 5) – Kim Ho & Michael Lucas

Wakefield (Episode 5) – Kristen Dunphy & Sam Meikle

Overall Regulate (Episode 1) – Stuart Web page

Highest Stand-Up Particular

Anne Edmonds and Lloyd Langford – Trade with Excitement

Celia Pacquola – Let Me Know How It All Works Out

Hannah Gadsby – Douglas

Lano and Woodley in Lano and Woodley

Rhys Nicholson Reside on the Athenaeum

Tom Gleeson – Lighten Up

Highest Supporting Actor in a Drama

Harry Greenwood – Wakefield

William McInnes – The Newsreader

Matt Nable – Mr Inbetween

Stephen Peacocke – The Newsreader

Justin Rosniak – Mr Inbetween

Highest Supporting Actress in a Drama

Michelle Lim Davidson – The Newsreader

Marg Downey – The Newsreader

Harriet Dyer – Wakefield

Rachel Griffiths – Overall Regulate

Noni Hazlehurst – The Finish


Highest Movie

The Dry

The Furnace

Prime Flooring


Penguin Bloom


Highest Tailored Screenplay in Movie

The Dry – Rob Connolly & Harry Cripps

Penguin Bloom – Shaun Grant & Harry Cripps

Peter Rabbit 2 – Will Gluck & Patrick Burleigh

Rams – Jules Duncan

Highest Course in Movie

The Dry – Rob Connolly

The Furnace – Roderick MacKay

Prime Flooring – Stephen Maxwell Johnson

Nitram – Justin Kurzel

Penguin Bloom – Glendyn Ivin

Highest Indie Movie


Ellie and Abbie (& Ellie’s Useless Aunt)

Lone Wolf

Moon Rock for Monday

My First Summer time

Underneath My Pores and skin

Highest Lead Actor in Movie

Simon Baker – Prime Flooring

Eric Bana – The Dry

Caleb Landry Jones – Nitram

Ahmed Malek – The Furnace

Jacob Junior Nayinggul – Prime Flooring

Highest Lead Actress in Movie

Rose Byrne – Peter Rabbit 2

Judy Davis – Nitram

Noni Hazlehurst – June Once more

Genevieve O’Reilly – The Dry

Naomi Watts – Penguin Bloom

Highest Authentic Screenplay in Movie

Ellie and Abbie (& Ellie’s Useless Aunt) – Monica Zanetti

The Furnace – Roderick MacKay

Prime Flooring – Chris Anastassiades

June Once more – JJ Winlove

Nitram – Shaun Grant

Highest Supporting Actor in Movie

Michael Caton – Rams

Baykali Ganambarr – The Furnace

Anthony LaPaglia – Nitram

Sean Mununggurr – Prime Flooring

Jack Thompson – Prime Flooring

Highest Supporting Actress in Movie

Essie Davis – Nitram

Claudia Karvan – June Once more

Esmerelda Marimowa – Prime Flooring

Miranda Tapsell – The Dry

Jacki Weaver – Penguin Bloom


Highest Brief Shape Comedy Offered by way of Fb

A Existence in Questions: Knowledge College with Aaron Chen

All My Pals Are Racist

Birthday celebration Country

Hug the Solar

Jimmy Rees

Samantha Andrew

Highest Brief Shape Drama

Stunning They

The Bends

Dwarf Planet


The Tailings

You and Me, Earlier than and After

Highest Brief Shape Leisure

Chopsticks or Fork?

Connoisseur Lazy

Nat’s What I Reckon

Ozzy Guy Opinions

Sturdy Girls

Woven Threads – Tales from Inside

At the start revealed as AACTA Awards nominations 2021: The Newsreader, Wakefield lead pack

Source link